Will you fight?

This meme sticks with me. It’s supposed to be a joke, but it’s so much more than that. It’s funny that Mickey and Donald are having such a philosophical conversation, and there’s more levels of irony than I can comprehend, yet what they are saying has so much meaning that it’s hard for me to see it as a joke.

I agree with Mickey in this picture (never thought I’d say that). My friend Jackson, who showed me this, is probably the smartest person I know, and he has always had an insanely nihilistic view of the world.  Jackson repeatedly tells me about how existence is only based off chance and that we don’t really exist because everything we know is nothing but chemicals. I understand where he comes from, but I refuse to accept his viewpoints because existence is all that we have. There is nothing else that we can do but exist and make our existence better or worse, no matter how small our existence is relative to the rest of time, the universe, or anyone else’s existence. The only way that we can be happy is to fight for our existence, not give up and reduce it to the ideas of chance and unimportance.

 

Leave a Reply

