Anonymity

I took this picture of a Banksy piece while I was in Park City, Utah for my cousin’s wedding. I never thought I’d see a Banksy in real life just randomly on the street. 

Since seeing this piece, I’ve started wondering – who is Banksy? Does it matter who he is? I guess it doesn’t really, but it does matter that he remains anonymous. Not only for his own security and protection from the law, but to protect the idea of him, the idea that it could be anyone doing what he’s doing. It may be just some Joe off the street, or it could even be an eccentric millionaire. The idea that anyone can have their voice heard is why I think his art has been so accepted. Like I said, it doesn’t matter who he is, just that he stays anonymous, because his anonymity is what gives him his voice. 

Leave a Reply

