A bit of a rant

7027604401_535e9f733d_k

Photo ©2012 by Tax Credits [CC-by-2.0]

What social class am I? I suppose I can compare myself very much well to Lucinda Rosenfield and her life as a teenager. My family is certainly not the wealthiest, but neither do we have to worry about where our next meal is going to come from.We try to save money wherever we can, but we don’t shy away from some expenses, like a big sound system for my room.

But does it really matter what socioeconomic class my family can be categorized as? This just seems like another way people try to label themselves in order to divide each other. It almost perpetuates the “rich vs. poor” mentality (although I don’t think my family is either of those). Socioeconomic class is such an unnecessary concept. All it does is divide the people into separate groups which animize each other because of their differences. But complaining about the problem with this system is about as useless as the system itself. It’s just the way things are, and human nature will always maintain it. Money was developed for a reason, and it has stayed with us for thousands of years for a reason. There’s nothing I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

